Problems using WINE

If you need support, you can get help here!
User avatar
isardor
Warder
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 14, 2008 00:00

Postby isardor » Jun 16, 2009 09:46

Considering my previous post in an other thread, I solved some problems (and got brand new ones :-D):

I use Ubuntu 9.04.
When I first tried to start dolloader i used wine 1.0.1 (because it's stabel).
After a trail I worked out that the dolloader needs to be in a subdirectory of the Camelot installation p.e. /Camelot/loader/dolloader.exe
At least I got error messages.
So I updated WINE, using the winerep (available on winehq.org), to wine 1.1.23. that leads to a crash-message, not by DAoC but by wine itself.
So i downgraded back to 1.0.1, downloaded the version 1.1.19 (availabel on http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/archive/index.html). I took the version for x86_amd64 and deb. (I just found out that the last stable test for DAoC has been done using wine 1.1.19 (on Fedora))
Manual installation:
Code: Select all
cd <dowloadpath>
sudo dpkg -i ./wine_1.1.19*

After this installation is complete, check the wine configuration and configure the library for using direct X 9.0c.
A wiki can be found here. (Perhaps a previous DX9 installation is needed)
Now, allmost all ist perfect, run:
Code: Select all
cd <path to dolloader sup folder in your Camelot folder>
WINEDEBUG=noshader wine dolloader.exe game.dll <server> <login> <password>

At this point I used winedebug to shut down the pixelshader... "noshader" is not the parameter to kill some pixelshader, but welll noshader isn't a known package and I doupt it existence.

Now, DAoC will complain about missing dll's (but it's a success, after all)
download all missing dll's into your ./wine/drive_c/windows/sytem32/ except mss32.dll, which needs to be installed in your Camlot path. you can download missing dll's here
after that procedure, it's possible, that it recognise some other dll's are missing, so long...

run again, with noshader, by using it Camelot started even with sound, while it keeps telling me that no sound driver was specified (a bug perhaps, I configured it for ALSA).

So it started an then crashed a few moments after reaching the character screen.
fit that I am I tried:
Code: Select all
WINEDEBUG=noshader wine dolloader.exe game.dll <server> <login> <password> <an existing charakter name>

So it jumps over the character screen as I thought, but then hangs up again while loading the map.
At this line I like to post the shell output, but sadly I'm at work now and can't. Perhaps later.

Perhaps it just crashed, because I installed Labyrinth (tried it in an unpatched and a patched version)? Do I need to downgrade my Camelot installation to an earlier version? Catacombs or even earlier? I will try it later.

And sorry for my english.

User avatar
TheKrokodil
Alerion Knight
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Jan 11, 2005 01:00

Postby TheKrokodil » Jun 16, 2009 15:10

WINEDEBUG should be set to -ALL
Code: Select all
WINEDEBUG=-all

in order to prevent massive "debug" messages from being spammed.

In order to disable Pixelshaders, run 'winecfg' and add 'game.dll' to the application list, then decheck the 'Allow Pixelshader' flag in the graphics tab.

You should also always use the latest version of wine, as they are (in most cases) the one working best - Just add the wine repository to your software sources.
Be nice. :)

User avatar
DanGer666
Phoenix Knight
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Feb 03, 2006 01:00

Postby DanGer666 » Jun 16, 2009 15:43

Hm, im using Wine with no Prob,latest Version on amd 64/ubuntu 9.04/lotm. Its a bit slow sometimes, so i thought about switching to ubuntu x32 again, but its runs. Only had 1 crash so far, and i just did what the Threads in this Forum said.

Just run winecfg and disable pixelshaders. if u want to disable these only for DAoC, do as metty told ya. you can even run DAoC in a Window etc..

In the Linux-Thread, where you posted, read the Entry of "warfinger" on Page 2. Its the best way to go (for me).

User avatar
isardor
Warder
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 14, 2008 00:00

Postby isardor » Jun 17, 2009 12:44

Ya, I actually did unflag the pixelshader. and it runs now, sometimes it hangs up because of "to many lights".

@metty: i will try this -all param, perhaps it solves the "light" problem, see above, but after all, the latest wine 1.1.23 doesn't sem to work.

User avatar
TheKrokodil
Alerion Knight
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Jan 11, 2005 01:00

Postby TheKrokodil » Jun 17, 2009 15:30

Running DAoC for about half a year (Ubuntu 9.04 and 8.10, x64) using wine and mono without any problem. DAoCPortal Connect.exe + ModMgr.exe work fine using Mono; dolloader and DAoC fine using the wine settings described above.

Currently running DAoC on wine-1.1.22 without any problems.
Be nice. :)

User avatar
isardor
Warder
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 14, 2008 00:00

Postby isardor » Jun 18, 2009 10:40

hmm OK it run it on Ubuntu 9.04 amd64, ATI HD4850, 8GB Ram... blah.
Well it doesn't run so stable for me: it starts with a pixalation of text in chatboxes, context menues etc. than some time later it just quits to desktop without any message. Perhaps i sould reinstall DAoC, just Minotaur, this time and do no update before running DOL.

If that don't work i'll install in in VirtualBox.

User avatar
DanGer666
Phoenix Knight
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Feb 03, 2006 01:00

Postby DanGer666 » Jun 18, 2009 12:36

hm, metty, can u post a tutorial on mono+daocportal?
@ isa, have you installed and activatet the latest drivers for your ati??, nonfree? maybe seek a bit on the net, if there are others having issues with ati/linux/ubuntu/daoc. no probs with nvidia, no ctd, just some lag from time to time, but thats my pc..:P

User avatar
isardor
Warder
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 14, 2008 00:00

Postby isardor » Jun 18, 2009 20:27

Hmm im using the original driver for ATI. My hardware manager says "it is istalled and working" FGLRX ist active. right now im using enlightment as enviroment.

but perhaps I forgot to install some needed packages to wine? MS Fonts?

Demiurgo
Phoenix Knight
 
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mar 11, 2007 01:00

Postby Demiurgo » Jun 22, 2009 22:28

I made daoc work with wine around few months ago. I succesfully played with no problem in select char or other stuffs, only problem was the extremely low framerate.

Now I reinstalled wine and tried again, and i can play with an amazing high framerate (better than window maybe)


PS Really I have a problem, I don't see all armors coloured with dye, only some piece and I can't install .net framework 2.0 to use daoc portal. Anyway I'm not using it atm^

EDIT: Ok first real problem :O After some second in game all my chatbox became unreadable, it's like if there are some black columns over the text

This is the chat problem^
Image

I tried to change the font size in the chat, and when I change it I can read again the text for some minutes, then it becomes unreadable again. When I end the font sizes I have to relog^
Image

Demiurgo
Phoenix Knight
 
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mar 11, 2007 01:00

Postby Demiurgo » Jun 25, 2009 13:29

*BUMP*
I'm tryng to full use linux in these times, but DAoC is still making me restarting with wista :D

Anyone got any idea on how to fix this chat bug?
Image

User avatar
M00n
Warder
 
Posts: 55
Joined: May 03, 2009 00:00

Postby M00n » Jun 25, 2009 14:14

Did you try changing from bitmap to TTF font or viceversa into the UI?

Never had that error on my ubuntu btw.

Try running daoc from wine on console and see if it retrieve any kind of error in the momment it crashes. Turn off any 3D effect on the desktop before you play...there's a lot of things to test :p

Demiurgo
Phoenix Knight
 
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mar 11, 2007 01:00

Postby Demiurgo » Jun 26, 2009 15:36

I have no 3d effect on :D

It doesn't crash, I simply see the chatbox like in that screenshot after some minute of gameplay

I will try changing the UI fonts ty ^
Image

User avatar
Kirogar
Gryphon Knight
 
Posts: 228
Joined: May 18, 2006 00:00

Postby Kirogar » Jun 26, 2009 17:01

Its a bad idea to use an ATI card with wine. Try a NVIDIA one and all will be good. :wink:
Gruß
Kiro

Demiurgo
Phoenix Knight
 
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mar 11, 2007 01:00

Postby Demiurgo » Jun 26, 2009 20:59

Mh i won't change pc to test it atm :D

I tried to modify the font in UI with the TTF one, but the problem is still the same ><
Image

User avatar
isardor
Warder
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 14, 2008 00:00

Postby isardor » Jul 04, 2009 16:53

I found out it is a known bug with ATI. so, it seems the G-RAM runns full after a while. even with my 1 GB. Some said that 500 MB in a couple of minutes is no problem. so, I decidetd to play on Windows untill I got a NVIDIA. ;)

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Wednesday, 14. May 2025

Artwork and screen shots Copyright © 2001-2004 Mythic Entertainment, Inc. All rights reserved. Used with permission of Mythic Entertainment. Mythic Entertainment, the Mythic Entertainment logo, "Dark Age of Camelot," "Shrouded Isles," "Foundations," "New Frontiers," "Trials of Atlantis," "Catacombs," "Darkness Rising," the Dark Age of Camelot and subsequent logos, and the stylized Celtic knot are trademarks of Mythic Entertainment, Inc.

Valid XHTML & CSS | Original Design by: LernVid.com | Modified by Uthgard Staff