Mentalist Healer viability

Geff
Warder

Postby Geff » Mar 02, 2017 00:53

I'm wondering about Mentalist viability as a healer

I've had some experience playing as a healer with high Regrowth spec and from my experience the medium heals (Heal) and the big heals (Major Heal) are the two best heals, while the small heals are from my experience a waste of time because they heal so little. I usually only use little heals to top off someone after a fight if they are missing a little bit of health. Mentalist seems to get both the medium and the big heals.

Has anyone actually tried doing a Mentalist healer?

Tentative idea:
32 Way of the Moon - wish I could get 34 for the next rank of power regen, but can't get that and the highest major heal at the same time. 32 gives the second to highest rank HoT.

42 Mentalism - allows you to get the highest rank Major Heal.

munchies
Myrmidon

Postby munchies » Mar 02, 2017 08:55

It's not viable, because mentalist has specific roles in PvE/RvR. With both specs you will have 28 mentalism, which gives you nice base heal and demezz. With high mentalism your utility will decrease.

PvE:

Your main and strongest heal is HoT, so you will need 46 in mana anyway. Also in mana spec you get pom + aoe dot. Very useful in PvE. As sidespec you can have 28 mentalism, so you have nice base heal + demezz

RvR:

45 light/28 mentalism/4 mana - In RvR you are main damage, so you need enough points in light to do decent DPS. 28 mentalism for nice base heal+demezz

Geff
Warder

Postby Geff » Mar 11, 2017 23:36

I honestly can't see why Mentalist healer is not one of the meta picks. On paper they should make a great second healer.

-Luris can be Mentalist so that gives tham +20 dex advantage over other healers.
-They have an insanely good single target HoT.
-They have a single target Mez.

I don't see what makes Mentalist healers a bad choice.

imamizer
Gryphon Knight

Postby imamizer » Mar 12, 2017 12:00