Why not both, duh

Utchred
Guardian

Postby Utchred » Feb 07, 2017 11:13

50 BS
29 Hammer
29 Axe
12 Parry

Let it be known that I am level 30 and have never had a level 50 character in this game, yep - I'm a newb.

But to the folks who have some Skald RvR experience @ 50, play devils advocate for me please

This spec would give you the advantage of have slash and crush damage
You would have the Axe anytime slow combat speed and slow movement speed in pillage/plunder
Then you could hit em with havoc the front anytime style
Then if they run away you bust out your hammer and hit em with conquer
or
Axe pillage plunder for the speed debuffs and then hammer provoke to save endo
You would also adjust which weapon you used based on their armor
In other words, whatever combination is most effective vs that opponent

The difficult lies in getting used to switching weapons

I haven't tested any of this but just would like some opinions

borog
Phoenix Knight

Postby borog » Feb 07, 2017 11:24

The low weapon skill will really hurt you end game and the Skald is on a lower damage table as it is.

Plus hammer has low endu costs and has less resistances against it than axe, so why bother all the swapping for 20 extra damage?

Utchred
Guardian

Postby Utchred » Feb 07, 2017 11:31

I see

So you don't believe that the anytime debuffs combined with conquer are good enough to justify the loss in overall damage?

tharid
Myrmidon

Postby tharid » Feb 07, 2017 11:43

In 8v8 you will be busy with rupting as many caster/supporters with shouts, so that would only suffer if you had to switch weapons there as well. I don't want to say that it's not possible, but you'd need even more situational awareness for optimal play, which, for example, is one of the big issues of playing a Minstrel perfectly (managing of shouts/weapon switch/song switch/cc).

In solo or zerg situations (while assisting in a zerg) you want as much frontload as possible, but this spec wouldn't help you with that either.